Ministry of Foreign Affairs Foreign Policy Process of EU integration and regional cooperation Regional Initiatives
Tuesday, 06 June 2017. PDF Print E-mail
Visegrad Group - V4
+ larger fontnormal font- Smaller font
The Visegrad Group (V4) was established on 15 February 1991, as an informal alliance of Czechoslovakia (since 1993 the Czech Republic and the Republic of Slovakia), Poland and Hungary. Its aim was to lay the foundations for cooperation in the changed political circumstances in Central Europe and to create conditions for joining the EU. The "Visegrad Declaration", adopted at that time, stresses that similar historical, cultural and religious heritage, traditional ties and mutual influences are the basis for the successful cooperation.

The Visegrad Group is active towards the Western Balkans region through diplomatic activities, promotion of projects and maintaining continuity in implementation of the programmes launched during the previous presidencies.

In the framework of the Czech Presidency of V4, the Annual meeting of V4 and WB6 Ministers for Foreign Affairs was held in Prague on 13 November 2015. The Agreement on the establishment of the Western Balkans Fund was signed on that occasion.

The International Visegrad Fund (IVF) is the only V4 permanent structure. It finances activities of NGOs and private individuals where, besides grants it gives individual scholarships and organizes art workshops, contributing to the exchange of views within V4 region and among the neighbouring countries involved in V4. Internet link: 

The Republic of Poland holds a year-long rotating Presidency of the V4 in the period from 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2017.