After 8th consecutive European Parliament Elections, held from 25 to 27 May 2014, the European Parliament is made up of 751 Members. EP President is Martin Schulz (S&D, Germany).

The European Parliament, under the co-decision procedure with the Council of Ministers, participates in making EU laws. Under the new Lisbon Treaty of 2009, its jurisdiction was extended to 50 new areas: immigration, international legal assistance and police cooperation, structural funds, public services, transport, protection of personal data and intellectual property rights, annual budget of the Union. The European Parliament has gained new political powers, in terms of political control, through the election of the President of the European Commission (under the previous Treaty of Nice, it only affirmed the decision of the European Council on the appointment of the President of the European Commission).

The European Parliament has 21 select committees, which are mutually managed by political groups. Out of all EP select committees, of special interest to the Republic of Serbia are the Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET, Elmar Brok, Chairman) and the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE, Claude Moraes, Chairman). Two Sub-Committees operate within the Foreign Affairs Committee: Sub-Committee on Security and Defence (SEDE, Anna Elzbieta Fotyga, Chairperson), and the Sub-Committee on Human Rights (DROI, Elena Valenciano, Chairperson).

Delegation to the EU-Serbia Stabilization and Association Parliamentary Committee (SAPC) acts within the European Parliament, chaired by the Slovak MP Eduard Kukan.

The most important document for the general relations between the EP and R. Serbia is Resolution on the progress of R. Serbia in European integration, as proposed by the Rapporteur for R. Serbia (David McAllister) and adopted by the European Parliament in the plenum. Resolution on the progress of the EU integration of R. Serbia for 2014 was adopted on 11 March 2015.